top of page

A Front Row Seat to the Greatest Miracle of All

Well...I'm still here in Banraeaba. The flights here are kinda weird. Even if you buy a ticket for a certain day, there's no telling whether you'll actually be able to get on the plane or not. It's actually kind of a joke here...

But I will be getting on the flight today at 12:40 to Nonouti (in about three hours). I spent some time last night and this morning packing my bag...it's so hard to decide what's really necessary and what's not. I packed my books, three shirts, two pants, four ties, my running shoes, toiletries, a headlamp, my camera, some first aid stuff, an extra journal, and my companion's pillow. I'm only allowed 15 kgs, which is hard because my suitcase already is pretty heavy by itself. It's kinda a weird situation; I am going to switch out with an Elder that's already there (Elder Shaner) so he can come in for some dental work. So that means that I will be there a week before my companion, Elder Gilmour. In that time, I will try to find a house for us to stay in while the other two Elders there will stay in their current house. I never thought I'd be house-hunting on my mission, but I seem to have actually done it a lot here. Life skills, right?

Elder Gilmour and I have been working in Banraeaba together for the past week while waiting for our flights. It's gone pretty well. It's nice to not to have to run to the office all the time and just be able to wake up, study, and go out and teach people. We found a few really cool new investigators too. Elder Gilmour is awesome! Turns out he's from Missouri too! What are the chances of that! We talked a bit and found out that we went to the same youth conference one time! That really big one in the hotel or something. Small world...He's doing pretty well. I thought it would be way more shocking for him, but then I found out that he is in the marine corps. That makes things easier. He'll have no problems in Nonouti.

We had two baptisms this past Saturday as well. Their names were Tinai and his son Kire. We found them from a random street contact a few weeks ago. I think I already explained them a little bit. Tinai used to work on a German cargo ship until he had a stroke about two years ago. Now half of his body is paralyzed. He can't stand or walk. He has spent the last two years laying on the floor of his home near our house. The ward hires a truck each week to drive back to his house and pick him up. Two men from the ward go to his house, lift him into the back of the truck, then lift him out into the wheelchair that someone in the ward let us borrow. The men in the ward are great. We had two of them baptize him in the font. It was a really neat experience to witness. He had a huge smile on his face when he came out of the water. his testimony was so strong too. I love that family. I know that God places people in our path that are prepared to hear the Gospel! Tinai ma are just a few examples in this big world.

We had our farewell dinner with the ward last night. It was really nice of them. I took pictures with a handful of people and we had a nice dinner. I think Elder Gilmour was a little taken aback at the singing and dancing, haha. It was fun, except it started late. Elder Gilmour and I ran the 15 minutes home so we could make it to the house in time. I'm really going to miss this ward. They are so excited and supportive of the missionary efforts. I just hope I can bring that same excitement to Nonouti too!

I don't know how long I will be in Nonouti. I have eight months left on my mission, almost to the day. That is a really scary thought. Actually, I still feel relatively new; there's never a single point in time where I have looked back and decided that I was "experienced" as a missionary or "fluent" at the language. Time is just slow and steady (or it seems to be) until you look back and realize how long it's been. It's a really interesting phenomenon. I think I'll probably be in Nonouti for a good long while...three transfers? Four? Who knows? Either way, I'm pretty sure that Nonouti will be my last time working in an outer island. I'm really motivated to work hard and give it my best effort. There is a lot of potential there. I've had interviews with both President Larkin and President Tune, who have then discussed Nonouti with the area presidency. They have big ideas for Nonouti...no pressure!!!

Anyways, I have to get going. I wish all of you good luck. Shout out to Kaiden for turning 11 (you're getting to be an old man now! I'll send you a cane or something...). I'll keep in touch as best as I can. I can't wait to go spread the good new of the gospel to the people of Nonouti. I want to help them so badly, and I know that the gospel of Christ can do that for them. It can do that for everyone. It can help you. I've seen it so many times in peoples' lives here. Being a missionary is the best. Its' a front-row seat to the greatest miracle of all - the power of the atonement of Jesus Christ in peoples' lives. I will never forget it. But do you know the best part?

You don't have to be a missionary to see it. You can see it yourself. Today. It's up to you to find it!

Elder Barker

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page