top of page

I DO Have an Older Brother

Another week gone...sooo baiti te tai.

This week was probably one of the spiritual highlights of my mission so far. Elder Nattress and his wife of the seventy came to our mission to visit us as give us some training. Elder Nattress is so cool! He has this glow about him whenever he talks. He's so cheerful and you can just feel his love whenever he speaks. He had so many good insights on on the gospel I couldn't take notes fast enough! I really liked the mission tour this year because it wasn't focused on missionary work. Yes, you read that correctly. The past two mission tours were all about how to stay motivated and work hard and be a better missionary. They were good too, but I liked this year's better. Elder Nattress just focused on Christ. The whole conference was based on the question "What think ye of Christ?" and we spent the entire day sharing our thoughts and discussing it. Once again, there were too many good insights to remember them all. I do remember feeling a deep sense of gratitude and Love for my Savior. This was my insight:

All of my life I have been the oldest. I've always heard stories about people having awesome older siblings that they look up to and adore, but I've never had one. I'm always the first in my family to do stuff - go to high school, play sports, serve a mission, make dumb mistakes. To be honest, most of the time I have no idea what I'm doing. I'[m just kinda making it up as a go! I've always kind of wished that I had an older brother that I could follow. It's not something I'm bitter about; I LOVE being an older brother and I love all of my younger brothers so much. But I've always wondered what it would be like. During the conference I had a thought. I DO have an older brother I can follow. He set the perfect example for me. I DO look up to him and adore him. I try to be like him. His name is Jesus Christ! I am so grateful for my older brother. My love for him has increased so much this week!

I'm about out of time, but here's a rundown of the rest of the week

- went on a split with Elder Nattress for and evening!

- got sick and stayed in the house for the rest of the week. Still getting better...

Yep, that's about it!

I tangiringkami!

Elder Barker

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page